WHOS 1 430pxWhat is the West Highland Offshore Series?

Sonas Hospitality West Highland Offshore Series 2017 Result

Ardfern Yacht Centre Esprit de Parcour 2017

In 2015 just under 70 boats took part in West Highland Offshore Series races and in 2016 with the inclusion of the St. Kilda Challenge the list topped 80 and closed in on tripple figures in 2017!

2018 will again feature the series’ opening Glencoe Regatta Feeder from Oban in early June, a remodelled and improved Midsummer in the Minch from Portree to Gairloch to coincide with their Big Boat Regatta Weekend, then the rest of the summer is smattered with passage races from Oban, Portree, Gairloch, Plockton and the Kyle of Lochalsh.

Once again, the top three placed skippers will be able to celebrate in some style thanks to the Duisdale House Hotel in Sleat, Isle of Skye, who have again agreed to sponsor luxury hospitality prizes for 2018 and we will have a new winner’s trophy courtesy of the Hotel’s owners, the Sonas Group.

West Highland Racers 600But it’s not just about the winning – Ardfern Yacht Centre are continuing to support with their trophy for the boat completing the highest racing miles undertaken – race miles for each event will be added together to realise an outright ‘competingist’ yacht – so you only have to be in it, to win it.

Remember, this is a free-to-all to enter series. Your boat is automatically added to the list of entrants when you take part in your first qualifying race – count 5 results from the series and who knows, you could be resting your weary joints in a luxury hotel for the weekend come the autumn.

Latest Overall Table 2018As the season progresses the overall table will be updated.

Ardfern Yacht Centre Esprit de Parcour 2018 – As the season progresses this trophy table will be updated.

Provisional Event List (some dates to be confirmed)

08 June – Glencoe Regatta Feeder – Oban - Glencoe
14 June – Challenge St Kilda
22 June – Midsummer in the Minch – Portree - Gairloch
23/24 June – Gairloch Big Boat Regatta – Gairloch - islands and islets - Gairloch
06 July – Round Mull – Oban to Oban (Mull to port)
21 July – Kyles' Cup 1 – Kyle of Lochalsh - Portree
14 July – Frithard Trophy – Plockton - Inner Sound - Plockton
22 July – Kyles' Cup 2 – Portree - Kyle of Lochalsh
11 August – Round Raasay Pursuit – Raasay – each boat has own start time; all finish together!

Information, updates and latest results are published via the West Highland Offshore Series Facebook page or via the web hosted by www.skyesailingclub.com.

West Highland Offshore Series Results 2016

Ardfern Yacht Centre – Esprit de Parcour 2016

West Highland Offshore Series Results 2015

Each included race is governed by the organising club and the series by West Highland Offshore Series' Terms.

To send us an email use westhighlandoffshore @ gmail.com



Stay in the loop with all the latest news and offers from the Club.

Read More



We sell Skye Sailing Club T-Shirts and other exciting items… it's all in here!

Read More



We are a Royal Yachting Association affiliated Club and Training Centre.

Read More

West Highland Offshore Series


Our club hosts the West Highland Offshore Series results and calendar for races.

Read More